thirteen reasons why…

Standard

thirteenI listened to Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher as an audio book.  I think I would have enjoyed the book better had I actually read it (as opposed to listening to it).  The person reading the book makes or breaks the book and I didn’t love the main female character’s tone.  That said, I still enjoyed the book and couldn’t wait to turn my car on to find out what happened next!  I borrowed the book because I thought it would hold the interest of my teenage daughter.  We were driving 4 hours to a soccer tournament and I wanted to choose a book that a teen would also like.  The book deals with bullying and teenage suicide, so I thought a thirteen year old would be intrigued.  If you are thinking of purchasing or recommending this book for a teen… mine did not like it as much as I did and she didn’t even listen to the ending!  Although, she did ask me later how it ended.  I would recommend Thirteen Reasons Why.  It was not one of my favorites, but it was worth my time.

Goodreads describes the book:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

Please view “reading now” for current and past book postings.

Leave a Reply

