life of pi…

Standard

piI just realized that I never recommended Life of Pi by Yann Martel on my blog!  This was an amazing book that I highly recommend.

I read this book for my neighborhood book club.  It makes for a great discussion.  Not all books are fun to talk about, but this one was an exception.  It was very interesting to hear people discuss their idea of the book and the ending.  Everyone had a different perception of the book.   We were all surprised to hear the reasons we all came to a different conclusion.

Great book – read it! 

Goodreads has an incredibly long description of this book.  Here is the last bit:

As Yann Martel has said in one interview, “The theme of this novel can be summarized in three lines. Life is a story. You can choose your story. And a story with an imaginative overlay is the better story.” And for Martel, the greatest imaginative overlay is religion. “God is a shorthand for anything that is beyond the material — any greater pattern of meaning.”

In Life of Pi, the question of stories, and of what stories to believe, is front and centre from the beginning, when the author tells us how he was led to Pi Patel and to this novel: in an Indian coffee house, a gentleman told him, “I have a story that will make you believe in God.” And as this novel comes to its brilliant conclusion, Pi shows us that the story with the imaginative overlay is also the story that contains the most truth.

Please view “reading now” for current and past book postings.

3 responses »

  1. I haven’t read the book yet but I did watch the movie by Ang Lee. Truly memorable visuals that made watching it quite a treat. As for the story, there was something about it that didn’t quite capture me. Though I have heard the movie came nowhere close to the book. But I think I’ll have to get the movie out of my head some before I look for the original.

    • I always find it hard to watch a movie when I’ve read the book (and vice versa). I saw the movies Fried Green Tomatoes and Forrest Gump before ever reading the books and it was VERY hard not to compare. Although, I always think books are better than the movie (with the exception of Charlie Wilson’s War — I enjoyed the movie more!). 🙂

      • I completely agree! The book wins over the movie any day! And yet there are movies like Hugo I find myself reluctant to follow to the book because the movie was such an incredible experience!

Leave a Reply

