lit: a memoir…

Standard

litWell, I fell for another Kindle Daily Deal.  Apparently, I am their target audience!!  I read quite quickly and can’t spend $12.99 on a new book all the time, so I buy the Kindle Daily deal for 99 cents!  Although, I do borrow e-books from the public library they don’t have all of the books on my “to read” list.  Hence, the Kindle Daily Deal purchases. 

I bought the book Lit: A Memoir by Mary Karr.  She is the author of The Liar’s Club which is a popular book with good ratings, so I decided to give “Lit” a try.

Lit is a memoir of an alcoholic mother and her recount of raising her son and her relationship with her husband while she was drinking.  She talks about her mother and father, who were also big drinkers.  To me, it raised the question about nature or nurture.  It seems a bit of both played a part on her road to alcoholism.  It was an interesting read.

The Kindle Daily Deal worked in more ways than one on me… I am now intrigued enough by the author’s story that I plan on reading “The Liar’s Club” as well (which is not available as an e-book at the public library and sells for $12.99 at amazon.com).  Darn Kindle Daily Deal. 

I gave the book 2 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.com simply because I was a bit bored by the end of the book.  But, I thought it was interesting enough to want to read other books written by her.

Goodreads describes the book:

Karr’s longing for a solid family seems secure when her marriage to a handsome, Shakespeare-quoting blueblood poet produces a son they adore. But she can’t outrun her apocalyptic past. She drinks herself into the same numbness that nearly devoured her charismatic but troubled mother, reaching the brink of suicide. A hair-raising stint in “The Mental Marriott,” with an oddball tribe of gurus and saviors, awakens her to the possibility of joy and leads her to an unlikely faith. Not since Saint Augustine cried, “Give me chastity, Lord–but not yet ” has a conversion story rung with such dark hilarity.

“Lit” is about getting drunk and getting sober; becoming a mother by letting go of a mother; learning to write by learning to live. Written with Karr’s relentless honesty, unflinching self-scrutiny, and irreverent, lacerating humor, it is a truly electrifying story of how to grow up–as only Mary Karr can tell it.

6 responses »

  1. Hi Melanie! I too am a fast reader and believe I could spend upwards of $1,000/month on ebooks if I purchased them at retail value. I recently found a site that emails you eBook deals daily. I have found so many awesome books that were free. I don’t want this comment to be labeled as spam so let me know if you want the website and I’ll send it to you! Happy holidays!

  2. And just a quick tip. If you’re going through past book deals and it’s labeled as free, double check the price once you get on the site {I typically use Amazon}. Sometimes the price has changed because it is a past deal. I got charged more a few times just because I wasn’t paying attention. But the current deals are always accurate 🙂

Leave a Reply

