don’t believe the hype…

Standard

My table project is a bit of a bust.  It did not turn out as planned.

I pinned an idea on Pinterest for a turquoise blue table and I pinned DIY instructions for re-furbishing furniture by using only spray paint.  Then, I put these two seemingly-great ideas together.

I followed the instructions…  I sanded, primed, painted (and painted and painted and painted).  The original “spray paint pinner” promised it would not look spray painted or streaky if you just used enough paint.  I bought SIX cans and used all of them and it still looks streaky.  Should I have bought and used SEVEN??

I also “distressed” the table and added a glossy coat to the top to finish it off.  It still looks streaky.

(One a side note:  The distressing worked well, but I am not sure you can miss trying to “wreck” something). 

We need our kitchen table and I don’t have the energy to re-paint again this week, so we moved the table back inside the house.

I like this idea and I like the color (although, my family disagrees about the color).

When I do a similar project:

  • I will use a paint brush and a can of paint (no more spray paint)
  • I will use a satin paint and not glossy paint

When you pin (and re-pin and re-pin) ideas on Pinterest.  Don’t get your hopes up too high, do more research if it’s a project and please…

Don’t believe the hype.

(Sigh.)

 

 

 

 

8 responses »

    • I like the table color. I can always change it, so I am not that upset. But, I will NEVER use spray paint again. It “carried” all over my garage and the floor is turquoise well past my drop cloth. Oh well.

  1. I agree! I just this minute finished spray painting two adorable end tables in cobalt blue by KRYLON. I primed with their grey, and then did several coats of the blue. No impressed with the streaky-ness. I do heaps of furniture painting using acrylic, latex and chalk paint and will def stick to that. I know lots of time has passed since you finished the table, but coating the spraypaint with a glaze in an almost similar colour (I happened to have some cobalt latex paint in my cupboard) helps cut the streaks a bit. Not perfect, but an improvement. Sanding with a fine grit might help too, but I didn’t have the energy today. I spent $12 on the spraypaint. Not worth it.

    Cheers
    Rae Bond
    re-tiqued@blogspot.ca

    • I don’t know that I would every use spray paint again for a project like that. I still have a blue “mist” all over my garage floor where the spray paint settled everywhere. Luckily, I moved the car before beginning the project! If it was a smaller item, maybe. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

