just finished…

Standard

I’ve been busy reading.

I read three very different types of books recently and enjoyed all of them.

1) The Poisonwood Bible – This is a story about a husband and father who is a Southern Preacher.  He decides to move his wife and four daughters to Africa on mission work.  The book is written from the perspective of the wife and the daughters…  each telling their own view of their life after the preacher moved them to the Congo.  This was a great book.  It was also chosen as part of Oprah’s Book Club.

2) The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry – This was actually a quick read written by a very humorous author from the UK.  I read it in two days.  It’s an odd book, not fictional.   It was very interesting and I now find myself trying to pick out possible psychopaths.  I am armed with a checklist (ha!).  I would recommend this one as well.

3) Basketball Junkie – I bought this book because I saw Chris Herren interviewed on ESPN.  He has a very interesting story.  He was a high school basketball superstar and went on to play basketball in both college and the NBA.  He also turned into a heroin addict along the way.  It’s his story about his life, his addiction and ultimately, his recovery.  He looks like a movie star.  It was intriguing to read about someone you think “had it all” but really didn’t.  This book will not win any literary awards, but it was interesting and I read it quickly.  Chris Herren is a success story in regards to addiction and I am glad I read the book.

11 responses »

  1. Love Barbara Kingsolver and just finished reading Prodigal Summer myself, which is probably a slightly easier read than Poisonwood Bible, but just as good.

    Good to see someone else reading ‘The Psychopath Test’, I found it entertaining and enlightening and what was just as compelling was the letter he posted on his website from a reader who is a pyschopath who has been having therapy, really eloquently written and speaking about his inclination to want to act in one way, but learning to try and subdue that instinct. Fascinating indeed. I think there is a link to the letter in the comments of my review if you are interested in reading it.

Leave a comment