is it time to go yet?

Standard

I had Thursday and Friday off of work and my kids were off of school. My husband was out of town, so I decided to treat the girls to some “Mommy Time” and take them to two fun places!

On Thursday, I checked the weather (remember, I said I would do that from now on!), I printed directions and brought the girls to the Life and Science Museum.  I thought they would be as excited as I was.  They were a little excited, but I guess I was expecting a little more enthusiasm.

On the way to our destination, there were a few arguments in the car.  Okay, I can deal with this… solved the issues and we kept going.

Then, we got to the museum and literally… one by one they were cranky.  Not at the same time – they took turns. 

When it was their appointed time to be crabby they each asked “is it time to go yet?”

I thought they would be excited to get out of the house and do something new.  I may have been wrong.

Not to be deterred… Friday, (after checking the weather!) I took them to the zoo.  Now, who doesn’t like the zoo?

Just like the day before, there were a few issues in the car.  Issues solved, kept going.

When we got to the zoo… one by one (as if they planned it) they asked “is it time to go yet?  Really, who wants to leave the zoo?

I am not sure what they were expecting at the zoo and the museum and I was obviously hoping for over-flowing happiness from them.  Apparently, we all needed to keep our expectations – in check.

All in all we had two great days.  We saw lots of great plants, insects and animals.  I also took a lot of great pictures!  I had a wonderful time with the girls and I wouldn’t trade it.

Today, life was back to normal.  Two soccer games, babysitting a friend’s dog and one swim team tryout.

Not once, did anyone hear me say… “is it time to go yet?”

Photograph taken on April 12, 2012 in The Butterfly House at the Life and Science Museum.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

