the hunger games, anyone?

Image

I read “The Hunger Games” trilogy and loved the books.  In my true form, I talked about the books constantly – to anyone who would listen.  I even convinced a few people to read them.

When you describe the books to people – post apocalypse North America, children fighting in the annual Hunger Games to the death, starving, desperate people – it’s a hard sell.  I don’t know about you, but my friends don’t want to read “that type” of book.  I had to make some pretty compelling speeches to get people to read the books.

My speeches were so compelling that my oldest daughter wanted to read the books.

I love to read.  If I can pass anything onto my kids… reading would be at the top of the list.  So, when my daughter, who doesn’t read nearly as much I as did at her age, asked to read the books.  I jumped on it.  I was thrilled.  I ordered her the books immediately.

Consequently, I actually got a little flack from “some people” for letting her read the books.  They thought the books were too violent with a terrible subject matter.  If these same people took the time to research the books, even a little, they would see that even Scholastic Books – book seller to the schools – lists the targeted age group for this series as 11-13.  (Now, maybe I should be embarrassed that I loved these books so much!)

I couldn’t be more excited that she is reading and enjoying the books.  She just finished the second book, “Catching Fire,” and has now started reading “Mockingjay,” the final book.

Only once, when I woke up in the morning, was she laying on the floor next to my bed – after reading a scary part in the book. 

5 responses »

  1. I thought they were a fun easy enjoyable read and easily could’ve read a fourth. As for the violence…to me it’s an older version of the fairy tales we eagerly read to them at age four. Poison apples, melting witches, off with their heads…violence is really not a new element in children’s stories.

    • Great point Addie. I remember the girls getting upset watching “The Lion King” – that is a very brutal movie – Scar was a very mean relative, to say the least!

  2. Good point, Addie. I am posting a link to a New York Times article from Sunday which has a discussion about “The Hunger Games” and particularly about the character of Katniss. The two “discussers” are film critics for the New York Times so their main interest is probably the film. I have not seen the film yet, but look forward to it. I greatly enjoyed reading The Hunger Games and intend to read the next two in the trilogy. I found this book highly entertaining and can definitely understand why it has become a cultural flashpoint. Katniss is a fabulous female protagonist, the futuristic society is about as scary a one that can be imagined, and the issues the book covers are important ones. Yet, it reads like just a good old-fashioned novel, with a smooth and fluid narrative, many exciting cliff-hanger moments and just enough “resolution” to both satisfy and make one anxious to read the next installment. Here is the link: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/08/movies/katniss-everdeen-a-new-type-of-woman-warrior.html?_r=1&ref=movies&pagewanted=all. (I think you have to copy and paste that into your browser.)

Leave a Reply

