sorry charlie, i cheated

Standard

I tried.  I really tried to read the book “Charlie Wilson’s War.”  I started it, put it down and read “Life of Pi” (great book, by the way).  I started it again, put it down and read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” (another great book, by the way).

So, I am reading “Charlie Wilson’s War” last night and I was complaining about it (I never complain about a good book…. quite the contrary).  There are so many details about weaponry, so many dates, too much information that I just didn’t care about.

Then, my daughter says to me “my teacher says you can’t give up on a book until you’ve read at least 3 chapters.”  That was my ticket out!  I was on Chapter 11.

So, I gave up. I stopped reading it and rented the movie.

(great movie, by the way)

One response »

  1. My sixth grade teacher (1965) said virtually the same thing except it was “three chapters or 50 pages.” I never listened to her until just the past decade or so. I have quit a few books recently. I think it has something to do with me getting lots of free books via the publishers’ pre-publication and proof editions. If it’s free, I’ll give it a shot. But I gave up on three books after about ten pages because they were too vulgar for my reading tastes:

    “Cogan’s Trade” by George Higgins, “Raylan” by Elmore Leonard, and “Start Shooting” by Charlie Newton.

    I thought “Taken” by Robert Crais” was very good, and I’m currently reading “The Third Gate” by Lincoln Child. It’s got me riveted.

Leave a Reply

