listen…

Standard

She asked me to listen to her read out loud.  It is a book she is reading for school.  I said yes, I would listen.  We laid next to each other in my bed and I kept the TV on.  I only half-listened to her reading out loud.  I was watching a movie, you see, so I only half-listened to her reading her book to me.  All of a sudden she burst into tears.  Loud, sobbing tears.  I asked, what is wrong??  Why are you crying??  Through tears she told me, “she died!”  She kept crying on my shoulder.  She was so upset.  I wasn’t listening, I didn’t hear the story, I didn’t know who died, I was watching the movie.  She re-grouped and started reading the book to me again.  I turned off the TV and listened.

Listen.

3 responses »

  1. In this day and age of electronics overload the best advice I have heard lately is “Listen To My Face” – I have it pinned on my kitchen cupboard door so I don’t forget.

Leave a Reply

