anna karenina, whew!

Standard

annaWell, it’s been three (yes, THREE) years in the making… I’ve finally finished reading Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.  During the first yearI probably needed to set this book aside and not finish it.   I didn’t enjoy it… not the beginning, not the middle, not the end.   What is wrong with me??   216, 972 people on Goodreads have given this book an average rating of 3.98 stars (out of 5)!!  My step-mom loved it, my neighbor loved it, it’s an Oprah pick for goodness sake!  To me, this was 1,170 pages of torture.

I’m proud of myself for sticking with it and finishing it (three years later).  And, I’ve only read about 200 books in-between starting this book and finishing it.  I’m only slightly exaggerating.  I love all types of books.  However, this one did nothing for me, but that’s not to say that you will not like it…  William Faulkner said it was the “best novel ever written” and it’s also been described as “flawless.”  And…

It’s an Oprah pick for goodness sake!!!

It’s not, however, a Melanie pick.

Goodreads describes the book:

Described by William Faulkner as the best novel ever written and by Fyodor Dostoevsky as “flawless,” Anna Karenina tells of the doomed love affair between the sensuous and rebellious Anna and the dashing officer, Count Vronsky. Tragedy unfolds as Anna rejects her passionless marriage and must endure the hypocrisies of society. Set against a vast and richly textured canvas of nineteenth-century Russia, the novel’s seven major characters create a dynamic imbalance, playing out the contrasts of city and country life and all the variations on love and family happiness.

Please view “reading now” for current and past book postings.

6 responses »

  1. It’s a bit of a struggle isn’t it? I enjoyed it but I could have taken a red pen and crossed out huge chunks about historical Russian political issues that went flying over my head and beyond the borders of my comprehension at a hundred miles an hour.

Leave a Reply

